Posted by: alinasiegfried | March 30, 2011

Two more sleeps…

Well the water conservation challenge has almost drawn to a close for another year. Two more sleeps until I have a nice long hot shower. And run the dishwasher. And put on a load of laundry. I’m pretty freakin’ excited I have to say!

I generally found it easier this year to measure out water in smaller increments (ie a 2 litre jug fill) and record it down, rather than fill a large 25 litre container at the beginning of the day – as that container isn’t always where you want it to be. In saying this I did find it harder to be vigilant with writing everything down, finding myself trying to remember, Did I fill my water bottle once or twice last night?…Still I’m pretty sure I recorded all my water use for the most part.

The media was a bit slow to pick up this year and I didn’t crack through radio or TV as I did last year. However given that last year it was pretty much my job to promote water conservation and thus I had a lot more time to hound the media and give presentations to audiences, I think I did okay. I did manage to get a story in a few local community newspapers and the Otago Daily Times are planning to run a feature on the challenge this Saturday.

As I did last time, I’ve come in quite often under 25 litres per day. As of the end of Day 29, I had 171.6 litres in the bank. I could have a nineteen and a half minute shower with that! If I were so inclined. But no, the end is in sight, I’m sticking it out until Friday. Two more sleeps 🙂

Thank you for your support this year, I’ll post total savings figures after the end of the month as well as details of water pledged.

alina

Responses

  1. Wow! You have done a great job. Your blog can be a very good example to everyone out there.


Leave a Reply

Categories

