Posted by: Kevin Freedman | March 23, 2010

One week to go!

Throughout this month as well as last June I have explained to others just how I am living with so little water. Several questions get repeated frequently especially the question of what I do when I am out and nature calls. As part of the mission of this challenge I must do my best to be as healthy as possible so when nature calls, I answer. Essentially, if I need to use to washroom I do. Being a man certainly makes this easier as I am able to use a urinal as opposed to a toilet which would generally take much less water to flush. But on top of this, I do my best not to flush when possible but instead use one of my water bottles to spray water into the urinal to clean it, this keeping hygienic as well. I am also lucky to spend much of my time away from home at one of two swimming pools in Winnipeg that each have waterless urinals. I have actually planned some of my schedule around this as while urinals use very little water, a few flushes and I use up lots of my daily water allotment.

since my last post I gave a presentation at a workshop hosted by the Manitoba Eco-Network entitled “Water conservation and Beyond..” as well at to a group of students from the Seven Oaks Met School upon the invitation of an old friend. I am ecstatic that I have been given so many opportunities to get the message of water conservation across to such a wide variety of people and look forward to presenting more! With just over a week left a couple hundred people have attended my presentations and a couple hundred more have signed pledges! If you haven’t yet pledged to reduce your water use or if you have an event you would like me to speak at please let me know as I am always up for talking to groups young and old!

Responses

  1. Way to go!!! One week left:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

